Close Window
Hostelling international
Hostelling International
Discover the real hostel experience
Customer rating Reykjavik City
- 621 Reviews -
Hostel rating:
Green rating:
08/12/2017 Maria Elisabeth

The room was very dirty. The floor needed to be vacuumed and washed. And the private bathroom also needed to be cleaned

Hostel response
Hi there, I'm very sorry to hear that. I do wish you had brought this to the attention of the reception when you were here so we could have looked into the matter and fixed it. I will review with the staff to see what can be done better. Best regards, Erla & the City Hostel team

08/12/2017 Filipa

This is a basic hostel but it was enough for our needs. Some of the staff were nice, but there was one guy at the front desk that was "robot-like", not at all friendly. We stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of our Iceland trip. For some reason, while we payed the same for both nights, on the first we had towels included and in the second not. On the first night the room was cold (heating was not turned on) and in the morning it smelled like sewage! The guest kitchen needs cleaning.

Hostel response
Hello! Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that there were no towels in your room on your second arrival. But I'm sure you got your towels when you told the reception they were missing, right? We do try to conserve energy and have the radiators on low when rooms are not in use. It's so great here in Iceland because it only takes a few minutes for it to warm up when you turn the radiator up and we are helping the planet. I will put forward your note about the guest kitchen, so we can keep an extra good eye on it :) best regards! Erla & the hostel team

08/12/2017 Tasya

Overall, I like my stay in Reykjavik, even though it was only for a night. However, Heida, the reception staff was very helpful and friendly. She also very enthusiast in the morning, although she was doing night shift :) Thank you Heida. And overall, the stay was amazing with all the environmentally friendly concept. However, it will be more pleasant if the information about the city plan and transportation clearer.

Hostel response
Hi there! Aww that's so lovely to hear. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Heiða. I'll note down your idea for the transportation options, so we can look into what we can to in this area :) Welcome back anytime! Erla & the Hostel Team

04/12/2017 Paulette

A wonderful stay in a very friendly hostel!

02/12/2017 Laure

Chambre confortable. Salle de bain privée : très bien. Propreté nickel. A améliorer : la propreté et la tenue des cuisines partagées. Torchons et éponges sales. Frigo et micro ondes à nettoyer. La "free food" a besoin d'être triée.

Hostel response
Hi there ! Thank you for your excellent suggestions. I will review them with the team :) best regards, Erla & the Hostel Team